Castles and Palaces and Breweries, oh my!

There's ice coming out the gargoyle!

We checked out the cathedral today. It was pretty cool, nice and big and not too long a wait. It was neat to see the ice frozen as it dripped out of the gargoyle’s mouths. I also enjoyed the Mucha stained glass window, and it’s easy to pick out because it’s stylistically different from the rest of the windows.

After that we went to the Pálffy Palác restaurant. It was recommended by my friend’s dad, and when me, Lindsay and Daphne were in Prague we went on a subsidized visit. I wanted to bring my parents, and we decided to use a Rachel Ray tip: when going to a fancy restaurant check out their lunch menu to save a few dollars. I had an amazing three course lunch for 390 crowns, which is about 21 dollars. Plus if you’re parents are treating you, it’s free!

After that we walked home up about a million steps. It was a nice way to work off lunch. For dinner we hit up one of the oldest breweries in Prague, U Fleků . It was fun, and the food was more of the traditional Czech food, meat and potato or dumpling. No veggies in sight, unless you count pickled cabbage. My mom had been hounding us about hitting up this brewery, and she was pretty happy about the atmosphere. It was a little too touristy for me, and I didn’t like how they forced some ‘traditional’ shots on us and the fact that it was full of American and Japanese dudes. It just didn’t feel too authentic to me, but considering I got to pick a lot of our tourist activities, if this is what my mom wanted, it was fine with me.

What a huge cathedral. Built in two parts, hundreds of years apart, yet you can barely tell.

As a side note, usually my parent’s out-drink me. I’ll take a nap and they’ve gone out on a beer run. Go figure…

Leave a Reply

