Target Free Fridays at MoMA

I actually went to The Museum of Modern Art in New York City to see the Tim Burton exhibit about a month and a half ago. I paid student admission, and it was still $12 (down from $20 for the full admission price). I decided to return to the MoMA because I read a review of the Cartier-Bresson exhibit in The New York Times. I love photography, and I wanted the opportunity to check out these works.

Target Free Fridays take place every friday from 4-8 p.m. at the MoMA. The line was daunting at first sight (it goes around the block), but it moves very fast. After about 5-10 minutes I was at the front, received my free ticket, and entered the museum. Visitors can also get a free audio guide, all you have to do is leave an ID for collateral.

There are a lot of cool exhibits happening now. One is ‘Picasso: Themes and Variations’, which focuses on Picasso’s lithographs. I particularly liked how they were displayed in sequences that showed the artists progressions, from life-like to abstract and vice-versa. The Tim Burton exhibit was in it’s final days, and was sold out. Good thing I went to check it out last month. On my previous visit ‘Rising Currents’, an exhibit where MoMA and P.S.1 Contemporary Art Center address the issues of ocean rise due to climate change, was advertised. I was glad to see it in its entirety, and it was something I found particularly interesting because of my environmental background.

Rising Currents

One of the more avant-garde exhibits was “The Artist is Present” by Marina Abramovic. She is an innovative artist who uses performance art to illustrate her point. The New York Times wrote a piece about how some of the performers feel as nude models interacting with the public. I thought it was interesting how the viewers were able to participate in the art, invited into the pieces in several instances.

The Artist is Present. Here patrons are able to participate by sitting across the table from the artist (in red).

The permanent collection at The MoMA is pretty incredible. I enjoyed walking around and viewing the pieces. I loved looking at different canvases and imagining which artist was inspired by their fellow artists, who may have worked together. The audio guide came in quite handy as well, helping provide insight about artists’ inspiration and hidden meaning in symbolism.

One of the last pieces I saw before I left the museum was ‘One and Three Chairs’ by artist Joseph Kosuth. It’s simple: a picture of a wooden folding chair, the actual chair, and a dictionary definition of the word chair. Listening to the audio guide describe it you learn that Kosuth made this piece to get viewers to really discuss what makes art art

One and Three Chairs, Joseph Kosuth

What do you think? does this deserve a place next to such famous pieces as ‘Starry Night’ or ‘Cambell Soup’?

van Gogh, Starry Night

Warhol, Cambell Soup

Art is subjective, and museums are a great place for fostering discussions about different philosophies, cultural phenomena and art, but there is never any one correct response. Just go and have fun!

3 responses to “Target Free Fridays at MoMA

  1. it IS a great piece and deserves to be there

  2. none of the chairs in Joesph Kosuth’s one and three chairs are chairs. They are all references to chairs. Even the “actual chair” is a reference to a chair, not a functional chair. Great piece

    • Too bad you weren’t there to guide me through the museum! It would have been a lot more fun than the audio guide…

Leave a Reply

