Super 8 is Super Great!

Super 8!

By far the motel we’ve frequented the most is the Super 8 Motel. It’s one of the more affordable motels, and usually there is a mini fridge and microwave as well. They are better at keeping the smoke-free rooms smoke free, and they offer a decent continental breakfast. I can usually grab some fruit to snack on throughout the day as well.

We drove from Nashville to Lexington, Kentucky. Horse country! We ended up at a horse park, however it was closed by the time we got there. Luckily, it was just the museum, so we could still explore the grounds. I got to check out a few ‘breed examples’, which was pretty neat (even though I memorized them using Breyer horses and coloring books when I was little).

Pony at the Horse Park.

Mini horse at the Horse Park.

Sleepy mini horse at the Horse Park. So cute!

We had dinner one town over, and had some local Kentuckian fare. I had a fried lamb sandwich, which was interesting, but rather bland. Mom had chicken with ham and gravy, and said her’s was tasty. I finished off the meal with some fried Oreos, which were definitely the best part of the meal.

We headed to West Virginia and experienced a little country crafts. It was kind of hokey, but some of the stuff was cool. Mom picked up some wine glasses and molasses. I got honey with the comb, some chili mix, and two kinds of loose tea. Can’t wait to try them out! For lunch we ate at the food court, which was far better quality than any other food court I’ve eaten at. I had a fried green tomato sandwich, with melted swiss cheese and bacon. Yum yum!!

Tamarack shops in West Virginia.

Lunch. Photo courtesy of mom! I put her in charge while I went to powder my nose.

Some round hay bales, from the road in Virginia.

View from the Blue Ridge Parkway, in Virginia.

Now we’re in Roanoke, VA. Not much to say about it, as we’ve just gotten to the Super 8. Not sure where we’re eating. Still playing the license plate game, and still missing a few states. We just can’t seem to find R.I.! I think I saw Hawaii a few days ago, but wasn’t close enough to see the state, just kind of saw the picture. I think the colors go: blue, green, pink, yellow, red, purple, orange. Not sure though. Point is, there are still too many plates I haven’t seen!

License Plate Game!

Leave a Reply

