Tourist Time in San Francisco, California

Two weeks ago I took a little vacation and went to visit my west coast friends. It was like a little Guatemala reunion, because Stacy and I went to Guatemala together, where we met Robbie. First time I’ve seen him in the flesh since that trip, about a year ago. I had a lot of fun catching up with them, and got a lot of great photo ops. Lots of walking, and lots of picture taking!

Stacy and I started our tourism day by getting corndogs and milkshakes. We said, let’s walk a few blocks, and then catch a bus to Ocean Beach. 4 hours later we had walked from the mission to the Pacific Ocean.

Our first detour brought us to Japantown. It was very zen, and we walked around a shopping mall.

Stacy as Geisha.

Building in Japantown.

We continued walking, stopping in a few boutique shops that Stacy likes, and of course, to grab a little Kielbasa for the road. She decided to show me these old abandoned baths. I thought they were super cool, and she informed me that everyone she brings loves them too. Apparently this is something Stacy does with all her visiting friends.

The Baths from the the walking trail.

View through the tunnel. Can just see the bridge peeking out.

I love the California coast. So rugged and breathtaking. After this we went and got a drink (wine for Stacy, lemonade for me), and then I went to soak my poor feet in the Pacific Ocean. I forgot to mention that I was doing this walk in a pair of loafers that were falling apart…my feet were protesting quite a bit by the end of the day. Everyone complains that the water is too cold, but I was psyched because it was like nature’s ice bath for my feet.

The next day I headed out with Robbie to view the city as a tourist can. Luckily we had a car. We started out by going to the Giant’s Stadium. As we were leaving we saw the Giant’s manager crossing the street.

Some baseball guy.

Next we headed to Chinatown. It was very festive, and made me remember what kind of deals you can get in these neighborhoods. Next time I need anything in NYC I’m going to check out Chinatown first!

I liked the streetlights and hanging lanterns.

We walked around one of Robbie’s old neighborhoods for a while, and then got some killer Indian food. Next, we went to take pictures of one of San Francisco’s more unique architectural buildings: The Transamerica.

Transamerica from the base.

Transamerica from Coit Tower.

I wanted to check out Coit tower, so that’s where we headed next. It’s pretty cool, and you get some good views of the city, especially since it’s on a hill and near the ocean.

Coit Tower

What’s one of the quintessential things to do in San Francisco? That’s right, drive down the curviest street in America! We headed over to Lombard and walked up it, then drove down. Cheesy, but fun too.

Lombard Street, San Francisco

Now the day was getting late, so we figured we’d head over to the Golden Gate Bridge. On our way we stopped at the Exploratorium/Palace of Fine Arts.

Palace of Fine Arts, San Francisco

So, we finally made it to the Bridge. What a day! Of course upon getting up on the bridge for a couple minutes, I realized that Robbie is terrified of heights. Good thing I walked across it the last time I was in San Francisco! We did have fun, and walked along a trail I hadn’t been on before to get some new shots of the bridge.

Golden Gate Bridge, San Francisco, CA.

Golden Gate Bridge, San Francisco, CA.

Golden Gate Bridge, San Francisco, CA.

Golden Gate Bridge, San Francisco, CA.

We also walked out on the fishing pier. It’s one of my favorite things because of the pelicans! They are waiting around for fish, and if you’re lucky you can get so close! Their beaks are kind of intimidating though.

Pelican on the pier. If only that stupid gull wasn't in the shot!

As for the rest of the weekend, how did that go? This picture probably sums it up:

This whale is 'So drunk'

Now I’ve got to get back to some learning. I’ve got 50 pages of atmospheric science to read, and so far putting it under my pillow hasn’t help transfer any of the info while I sleep. Gotta work hard so I can take another vacation soon!

One response to “Tourist Time in San Francisco, California

  1. thank you for taking us on this adventure. It is great to see the country through your eyes and feet. Aunt Maggie

Leave a Reply

